Cran-Apple Relish

I made this relish for Thanksgiving, and it was a hit! This could not be easier! You chop up the apple and onion. Throw them into the saucepan along with the rest of the ingredients.   Simmer on low until everything comes together and until cranberries pop, liquid is absorbed, and it turns into a chunky chutney. Make sure you taste it. I like it tart. If you like it sweeter, you can always add more agave, some brown sugar, or maple syrup. Although it’s great by itself, I use this for so many things! It’s delicious on cold cut sandwiches, brie and turkey sandwiches, even as an elegant appetizer on top of brie filled phyllo cups! You can always omit the onion for a fruitier cranberry sauce. Enjoy!

Cran-Apple Chutney

Serves 6-8

1 12 oz. bag cranberries

¼ yellow onion diced

1 granny smith apple diced

1 cinnamon stick

¼ cup agave nectar

¼ cup apple cider or cranberry juice

pinch salt

zest of 1 orange

Combine all ingredients into a saucepan. Simmer on low until cranberries pop and apples cook down.  Stir occasionally while cooking. Cook until the chutney has thickened, about 25 minutes. Let cool and serve.

About Emily
Hi there! Welcome to my world. I'm 27 years old and have been married to my best friend for almost 4 years! To top it off, we just brought the most beautiful little boy into the world. I am very blessed, to say the least. I am passionate about a lot of things! Health, fitness, food, and now my son are just a few at the top of my list. My food blog is a way for me to share some healthy foods that are still full of flavor! I love to take traditional foods and rework them by substituting healthy ingredients without losing the integrity of the food! These days I'm working on preparing meals as a mom who works full time! I share my shortcuts and secrets to living a healthy lifestyle while having a very busy schedule! I hope you enjoy this glimpse into my world!

One Response to Cran-Apple Relish

  1. Pingback: Butternut Squash Soup « Feast Ur Eyes

Leave a comment